Volume 4, Number 1 March 2013  

Athena Award winners (left to right):
Barry Rowe, Ken Eberts, Tom Fritz, Stanley Rose, Charles Maher

LEFT: Lincoln Award winner: Ken Dallison
RIGHT: Peter Helck Award winner: Jay Koka

27th Annual AFAS Premier Exhibition at the 2012 Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance

The Automotive Fine Arts Society's big show of the year was much bigger in 2012 thanks to significantly increased participation by sponsor Lincoln.

"Much to the delight of AFAS Members and Pebble Beach Concours d' Elegance attendees Lincoln decided to upgrade the look of our AFAS Exhibition to match their new worldwide corporate look." said Ken Eberts, AFAS President, "We are grateful to Lincoln for their support and confidence in our Society."

The most obvious improvement was the spectacular new tent. The exterior-framed clear span tent featured a massive unobstructed interior with a carpeted floor throughout as well as much improved overall lighting. Upgraded support furnishings and a clean, uncluttered layout provided a "gallery-like" setting for the member's art.

A by-invitation preview cocktail party is held on the Saturday afternoon the day before the concours featuring an awards presentation and a preview of the Society's member's work. The AFAS show is juried by a panel of 3 judges. Awards include 5 equal Athena Awards of Excellence, one Lincoln Award for the "most elegant art" and the Peter Helck Award judged by the members themselves awarded for the "work that best represents what automotive fine art should be".

A draw was held for the cocktail party invitation original artwork by Ken Dallison. Henry Ford III attended presenting the art to the winner.

Sunday, show day, saw record crowds in the tent with brisk art sales.


2012 Pebble Beach
Concours d'Elegance Poster

by AFAS member Jay Koka

2012 Pebble Beach Tour Poster
by AFAS member Barry Rowe